Five Seriously Useful Facebook Settings You Probably Aren’t Using

Facebook knows a lot about you. But in exchange it lets you do some pretty useful things to your account.




Like capitalists throwing bread crumbs to the petty bourgeoisie, Facebook has created some tools for managing your stake in its sprawling online empire.

1. ‘Where you’re logged in’

Using your Facebook on someone else’s computer is extremely socially dangerous. All it takes is one fit of forgetfulness, and they have access to the most real you of all, the Facebook chat you.

You can ‘end activity’ in your Facebook settings, removing any unfamiliar or redundant Facebook locations and devices.

Go to ‘Settings’ then ‘Security’ and click ‘Where you’re logged in’. You’ll then be shown a list of all your ‘sessions’. Remove the ones you don’t want by clicking ‘End activity’.




2. ‘Messenger.com’

If you prefer to use Facebook for keeping in touch with people exclusively, you can circumvent all of the annoying posts, adverts, game invites and other such rubbish by going to Messenger.com. The desktop site allows you to use the Messenger feature of Facebook and not a single thing else.

3. ‘Facebook Us’

No, this isn’t American Facebook (aka, Facebook), this is a feature that shows you how your relationship with your partner looks on Facebook, by collating all your information onto one page.

To see this, and maybe one day cry while reading it, visit Facebook.com/us

4. ‘See less’

Downgrading your relationship status to ‘Single’ is sad, awkward, and just as humiliating as you’re imagining. Luckily, your old pal Facebook is there for you. Unlike your friends suggesting you fire bomb your ex’s house, or the ones who are already sending your ex flirty emoji, Facebook finds a happy medium. When you downgrade, it will prompt you to see fewer of your ex’s posts and to limit the number of your own Facebook posts that are visible to your ex.

5. ‘Legacy’

This euphemistically named tool is for if the worst happens and you can no longer use your account. It’s a way to avoid your profile existing after you have passed away and upsetting your family, or leading people to believe you’re still alive.

Once again go to ‘Settings’ and ‘Security’, and from there you can nominate a Facebook friend to protect your legacy.

It doesn’t give them full access to your old content or messages. The ‘Legacy contact’ will be able to respond to new friend requests, pin posts to your timeline (such as ‘BTW I am dead’) and update your profile picture.

Source:

indy100.com



From Around the Web